7th October

During audition prep we watched a few people perform their monologues to the class. Lou did her monologue from “The Two Noble Kinsmen”where she was the gaolers daughter. I thought her piece was good but she moved around the stage a lot that it was a bit distracting, someone else pointed that out and Lynn said that you shouldn’t move unless the character requires movement. This made me think back to my Benedict monologue, I didn’t want to stand still during the speech so I moved around and used the stage, I wonder if I did it again whether it would look better if I had stood still. What I liked about Lou’s monologue was that we knew she wasn’t talking to us she was talking to herself and she made that very clear by not giving us any eye contact during the piece, she looked to the sky so we knew she wasn’t addressing us.

Leave a Reply

