23rd November

During Gary’s session we were working on cold reading and instead of working in pairs we were working by ourselves on poems. Mine was called “A Sad Child” by Margret Atwood, I really liked this poem because it moved me and effected me. When I did the poem however I went too fast, I was trying to bring up the tension because that part I felt was supposed to be fast but I went too fast and the audience couldn’t hear what I was saying for some of it. My voice was also effected because I was sitting rather closed, I think this was due to nerves because I have very little experience with cold reading so I was more self conscience with what I was doing that I automatically closed up my body. I was also told that if I hadn’t tripped over my words I could of done a better job at drawing in the crowd.

A Sad Child

You’re sad because you’re sad.
It’s psychic. It’s the age. It’s chemical.
Go see a shrink or take a pill,
or hug your sadness like an eyeless doll
you need to sleep.

Well, all children are sad
but some get over it.
Count your blessings. Better than that,
buy a hat. Buy a coat or pet.
Take up dancing to forget.

Forget what?
Your sadness, your shadow,
whatever it was that was done to you
the day of the lawn party
when you came inside flushed with the sun,
your mouth sulky with sugar,
in your new dress with the ribbon
and the ice-cream smear,
and said to yourself in the bathroom,
I am not the favorite child.

My darling, when it comes
right down to it
and the light fails and the fog rolls in
and you’re trapped in your overturned body
under a blanket or burning car,

and the red flame is seeping out of you
and igniting the tarmac beside your head
or else the floor, or else the pillow,
none of us is;
or else we all are.

 

 

I really liked Toms poem which was the Ning Nang Nong by Spike Milligan.

Ning Nang Nong

On the Ning Nang Nong
Where the Cows go Bong!
and the monkeys all say BOO!
There’s a Nong Nang Ning
Where the trees go Ping!
And the tea pots jibber jabber joo.
On the Nong Ning Nang
All the mice go Clang
And you just can’t catch ’em when they do!
So its Ning Nang Nong
Cows go Bong!
Nong Nang Ning
Trees go ping
Nong Ning Nang
The mice go Clang
What a noisy place to belong
is the Ning Nang Ning Nang Nong!!

Tom was very energetic and used actions to describe what was going on around him and we could see the world he was creating. He also acted like a kids TV show presenter which really suited the poem because the poem is made of nonsense. He also really engaged the audience by keeping eye contact with people and he paused at correct times.

 

 

Leave a Reply

