18 January 2017

Gary gave us a script for the boys to perform and for the girls to direct in groups, I am with Karolis, Ryan Smith and Thalia. The script is from a play called “Burying my Brother Under The Pavement” and its about a boy grieving his brothers death.

 

This is the scene we have picked for “The Breakfast Club”.

  • Bag scene

 

We see Claire looking through Bender’s wallet pictures.

 

                            CLAIRE

               Are all these your girlfriends?

 

                            BENDER

               Some of them…

 

                            CLAIRE

               What about the others?

 

                            BENDER

               Well, some I consider my girlfriends

               and some…I just consider…

 

                            CLAIRE

               Consider what?

 

                            BENDER

               Whether or not, I wanna hang out

               with them…

 

                            CLAIRE

               You don’t believe in just one guy,

               one girl?

 

                            BENDER

               Do you?

 

                            CLAIRE

               Yeah…that’s the way it should be.

 

                            BENDER

               Well, not for me…

 

                            CLAIRE

               Why not?

 

     Bender clearly doesn’t want to answer that.  He acts

     defensive.

 

                            BENDER

               How come you got so much shit in

               your purse?

 

                          CLAIRE

               How come you got so many

               girlfriends?

 

                            BENDER

               I asked you first…

 

                            CLAIRE

                    (shrugs)

               I dunno…I guess I never throw

               anything away.

 

                            BENDER

               Neither do I…

 

                            CLAIRE

               Oh…

 

     We cut back to where Andrew, Brian and Allison are

     sitting, Andrew is looking through Brian’s wallet.

 

                            ANDREW

               This is the worst fake ID I’ve ever

               seen…

 

     Brian laughs.

 

                            ANDREW

               Do you realize you made yourself

              sixty eight?

 

                            BRIAN

               Oh, I know…I know, I goofed it…

 

                            ANDREW

               What do you need a fake ID for?

 

                            BRIAN

                    (like it’s obvious)

               So I can vote!

 

     Allison looks up suddenly.

 

                           ALLISON

               You wanna see what’s in my bag?

 

                        BRIAN & ANDREW

               No!

 

     Allison looks hurt and then resentful.  Just to spite

     them, she dumps the contents of her bag onto the couch.

 

     Lots of stuff comes out.

 

                            ANDREW

               Holy shit!  What is all that stuff?

 

                            BRIAN

               Do you always carry this much shit

               in your bag?

 

                           ALLISON

               Yeah…I always carry this much shit

               …in my bag…You never know when

               you may have to jam…

 

                            BRIAN

               Are you gonna be like a shopping

               bag lady?  You know like, sit in

               alleyways and like talk to buildings

               and wear men’s shoes and that kinda

               thing?

 

                           ALLISON

               I’ll do what I have to do…

 

                            BRIAN

               Why do you have to do anything?

 

                           ALLISON

                    (with feeling)

               My home life is un…satisfying…

 

                            BRIAN

               So you’re saying you’d subject

               yourself to the violent dangers of

               the Chicago streets because your

               homelife is unsatisfying?

 

                           ALLISON

               I don’t have to run away and live

               in the street…I can run away and,

               go to the ocean, I can go to the

               country, I can go to the mountains.

               I can go to Israel, Africa,

               Afghanistan…

 

     Brian looks at her and then moves over to Andrew.

 

                            BRIAN

               Andy…you wanna get in on this?

               Allison here says, she wants to run

               away, because her home life is

               unsatisfying…

 

                            ANDREW

               Well everyone’s home lives are un-

               satisfying…If it wasn’t, people

               would live with there parents

             forever…

 

                            BRIAN

               Yeah, yeah I understand.  But I

               think that her’s goes beyond, you

               know, what guys like you and me…

               consider normal unsatisfying…

 

                           ALLISON

               Nevermind…forget it, everything’s

               cool!

 

     Allison starts putting everything back in her purse.

 

                            ANDREW

               What’s the deal?

 

                           ALLISON

               No!  There’s no deal, Sporto.

               Forget it, leave me alone.

 

                            ANDREW

               Wait a minute, now you’re carrying

               all that crap around in your purse.

               Either you really wanna run away or

               you want people to think you wanna

               run away.

 

                           ALLISON

               Eat shit!

 

     Allison gets up and walks away.

 

                            BRIAN

               The girl is an island, with herself.

               Okay?

Our group decided to do this scene because everyone is present in it and it has an even spread lines, I have practiced it and the we have decided to go with an American accent so I will need to work on it.

Leave a Reply

