27th January 2017

During audition prep we were paired up with a member from the production arts team to help us learn a new monologue. I managed to learn “Daisy Pulls it Off” and I went over “Vanity Fair” so I could have some feed back. I was told to next time perform it and ask people how I should perform it because I am still confused about that. During my next session I went and translated my Henry IV monologue because I was having difficulty with some of the lines.

I also did a bit of character research and this is what I managed to pull together.
Lady Percy Henry IV
  • Neglected wife
  • Doesn’t appear much
  • Witty, patient and playful
  • Loves her husband dearly
  • Complains about him allot

Summery of Henry IV part 2 scene 2 act 3

  • Set in Earl of Northumberland’s castle in northern England
  • Other people in the room: Northumberland (Relationship: Father-In-Law), Lady Northumberland (Relationship: Mother-In-Law)
  • Husband has recently been killed
  • Her and Lady Northumberland are try to persuade Northumberland not to go to war
  • She’s angry
  • Reminds Northumberland that his son died in war
  • Reminds Northumberland  that it was his fault that his son died
  • Northumberland agrees not to go

Lines before and after Lady Percy’s speech

LADY NORTHUMBERLAND

I have given over. I will speak no more.
Do what you will; your wisdom be your guide.
NORTHUMBERLAND

Alas, sweet wife, my honor is at pawn,
And, but my going, nothing can redeem it.
LADY PERCY

O yet, for God’s sake, go not to these wars.
The time was, father, that you broke your word,
When you were more endeared to it than now,
When your own Percy, when my heart’s dear Harry,
Threw many a northward look to see his father
Bring up his powers; but he did long in vain.
Who then persuaded you to stay at home?
There were two honors lost, yours and your son’s.
For yours, the God of heaven brighten it.
For his, it stuck upon him as the sun
In the gray vault of heaven, and by his light
Did all the chivalry of England move
To do brave acts. He was indeed the glass
Wherein the noble youth did dress themselves.
He had no legs that practiced not his gait;
And speaking thick, which nature made his blemish,
Became the accents of the valiant;
For those that could speak low and tardily
Would turn their own perfection to abuse
To seem like him. So that in speech, in gait,
In diet, in affections of delight,
In military rules, humors of blood,
He was the mark and glass, copy and book,
That fashioned others. And him—O wondrous him!
O miracle of men!—him did you leave,
Second to none, unseconded by you,
To look upon the hideous god of war
In disadvantage, to abide a field
Where nothing but the sound of Hotspur’s name
Did seem defensible. So you left him.
Never, O never, do his ghost the wrong
To hold your honor more precise and nice
With others than with him. Let them alone.
The Marshal and the Archbishop are strong.
Had my sweet Harry had but half their numbers,
Today might I, hanging on Hotspur’s neck,
Have talked of Monmouth’s grave.
NORTHUMBERLAND

   Beshrew your heart,
Fair daughter, you do draw my spirits from me
With new lamenting ancient oversights.
But I must go and meet with danger there,
Or it will seek me in another place
And find me worse provided.

 

Leave a Reply

